HC Black Hole Dust Catcher System

Customer Reviews for HC Black Hole Dust Catcher System

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 9 Reviews

Return to HC Black Hole Dust Catcher System Product Page

Customer Reviews

HC Black Hole Dust Catcher System Reviews

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This product sucks

Steve in FL

Comments On Jan 24, 2018:And I mean that in a good way. I've used this dust catcher for over a year now and it positions easily and stays exactly where you put it. A must have for sanding and works pretty well collecting chips too. I'd give this product a 6-star rating if I could.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent system!

Mark in UT

Comments On Dec 11, 2017:I purchased this when it was on sale, although still pricey, but worth every penny! It was easy to set up on my Laguna Revo 1836, with no drilling required. The instructions are straight forward with clear pictures and good technical writing. The capacity to remove the dust from my lathe work station is outstanding and does the job well. It will even catch most or the chips/shavings on smaller turnings (pens, boxes and such). I have a 1 1/2HP dust collector and it paired up well with that size/system. I have not had any issues with the rail system hanging up and it moves smoothly and is easy to position around my work at any angle. If you want to protect your lungs, buy it!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blackhole dust collector

DANIEL in OK

Comments On Jun 07, 2017:I have had one of these on my Jet lathe for over a year. After trying several other kinds of collectors home made and other wise, I decided to try this one. It is the best dust collector I have ever used. It is very versatile and can be configured in several different positions to allow for different kinds of turning. The only down side is that it is difficult to slide up and down the lathe in the aluminum track. I would highly recommend this to anyone that uses a wood lathe.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well Made Product

Christopher in MA

Comments On Mar 30, 2017:I was a little hesitant to purchase this product because it seemed a bit too expensive at first but I am glad that I went ahead and purchased it. It is a extremely well made system that is easily adjustable but stays where you want it. The bracket mounted to my Nova 1624 easily and the system is easily adjustable. Just be careful to make sure the aluminum track low enough so the sliding plastic bracket does not interfere with your banjo movement. There is a huge range of movement and adjustment. :-)

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Efficient and Convenient

DARRELL in WA

Comments On Jul 26, 2016:I was looking for a dust collection system to use with my Powermatic 3520B and remembered that the classroom at Craft Supplies uses this same system for their lathes. I purchased this system because it can be easily mounted to your lathe, is lightweight and can be moved either under or behind your work for maximum dust/chip collection. When not needed it takes up very little room and can be moved completely out of your way. The system is made of PVC and aluminum and assembles easily. This is a great buy.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Perfectly Designed for Woodtrurning

Robert in CA

Comments On Oct 20, 2015:Finally a system/design for turning that makes sense. It can be placed at any angle as well as any height or accommodate any diameter. It does not inhibit banjo movement and since its not on the floor, there is no need to move anything to clean up shavings. Its real easy to position where desired to either capture sanding dust or to be moved out of the way. It works great with a sliding head-stock system. Great investment to keep the lungs clean (and the shop) I sand more than I would like to admit and its nice to finally have a way to capture the dust so effectively.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's worth the money!

GEORGE in MD

Comments On Jul 25, 2015:When I first saw the Black Hole dust catcher I was scared off by the price. I finally decided to give it a try and I couldn't be more pleased. It took about 30 minutes to read and follow the instructions and all I had to do was drill two 1/4" holes in the base of my Nova 3000 lathe. There are instructions for putting the parts together and they were easy to follow and the parts design makes assembly easy.
The thing I like most is that I can position the dust catcher anywhere I want; close or far from the turning, left or right, vertically or horizontally. I have a good dust collector with a 5" inlet and I have seen a real increase in the amount of dust removed from the turning site. It doesn't pick up everything that normally falls forward toward the woodturner but sanding dust is handled very well. I would recommend the Black Hole Dust Catcher System to any woodturner.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Catches all the dust!

Claude in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2015:I have been using this dust collection attachment on my lathe for almost a year, and I am very impressed by it's well thought-out design. Because it is fully adjustable in every direction, it can be located right were needed to catch the maximum amount of dust. It's great when sanding, but I also use it when turning dry wood and I can feel the difference from having less of the finer turning dust floating around me. A good investment if you care about what gets in your lungs - and you should!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Dennis in CA

Comments On Mar 09, 2015:The efficiency of this set up is pretty amazing. It can be easily adjusted to get the source of the dust collection where it is needed, but keeps it out of the way. Could not recommend it more highly. Dennis Lillis

Was this review helpful?