Artisan Cheese Plane Kit

Customer Reviews for Artisan Cheese Plane Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 9 Reviews

Return to Artisan Cheese Plane Kit Product Page

Customer Reviews

Artisan Cheese Plane Kit Reviews

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

setting the tang

CLAUDIA in BC

Comments On Feb 05, 2018:In order to strengthen the tang, I use my bandsaw to make a small slot in the top of the wooden handle, just wide enough for the plane to set in. Makes the plane more rigid. These are a popular item at my craft shows!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tang needs redesigned

Jerry in TX

Comments On Feb 04, 2017:Could be a great product, tang is rectangular and weak. Directions call for a 3/8 drill bit (to big for the tang). I followed advise of prior reviewer and added two pieces of wood to each side of tang, after filling hole with epoxy 3/4 way. Only other small problem was top of tang is wider 13/32 wide, tang would not set all way in, so I used a 13/32 drill bit and just hand turned down 1/16 to finish putting tang all way in. Overall came our to be a nice product, three stars is simply because of tang design.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A little weak

ALFREDO R. in CA

Comments On Nov 07, 2015:This cheese slicer plane is quite good at cutting uniform slices without difficulty.
However, the strength of the item is a bit weak, as people tend to apply the pressure with the handle and that causes it to be someone bent..
it could be a little stronger in the section adjacent to the handle to avoid the problem.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Attaching Handle

Michael in CA

Comments On Jan 14, 2015:I to wish the tang was round. What I did was drill my hole 9/32", a little tighter then 3/8". 9/32" does not fit the top of the tang that is 3/8". I cut two small slots right and left of center hole with my Dremel tool using blade #944. The blade now can not turn and the epoxy seems to be holding good.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice looking but may need some adjusting

MIKE in WA

Comments On Jan 11, 2015:This kit makes a nice looking cheese slicer. The initial gap / throat on the slicer was large such that I had to gently press it in a vice to close it up to produce a thin slice of cheese.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Seems good.

Brian in OR

Comments On Dec 22, 2014:Made this a a gift so I have not seen it in action. I do agree with other reviews that I wish the tang was designed differently. I will update if I hear of problems during use.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gluing handle

Kim in JAL

Comments On Dec 08, 2014:I cut two thin shims of wood to surround the tang and then added the CA glue. Since you're going to be pulling on the handle, that thin tang worried me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks Great

CORY in CA

Comments On Oct 28, 2014:I have no issues other than it would be nice if the tang was round, square of just a little beefier so you didn't have to use so much epoxy.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great item to sell at craft fairs!

NORMAN in MD

Comments On Mar 12, 2013:I've made and sold a couple dozen so far. They make greatgift items and can be sold in conjunction with cheese boards. Good quality, really sharp.

Was this review helpful?