Easy Wood Tools Easy Pen Turner

Customer Reviews for Easy Wood Tools Easy Pen Turner

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 10 Reviews

Return to Easy Wood Tools Easy Pen Turner Product Page

Customer Reviews

Easy Wood Tools Easy Pen Turner Reviews

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice carbide tip turning tool

Brent in MA

Comments On Nov 28, 2016:I ordered this tool at the end of a particularly bad day at work. When it arrived, I was a little hesitant. The square design of the tool's neck sets it up to be used as a scraper rather than a gouge. While this is nice, it falls far short of most of my other turning tools in terms of surfacing the wood. However, after about 10 minutes of playing around, I found that I could get an incredibly smooth surface by slightly tilting the tool to one side or the other. The end result is at least as reliable as my Sorby multi-tip tool, but the compact size gives the advantage to the Easy Pen Turner.
This has quickly become one of my favored tools for pens and bottle stoppers.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

High school students make first pens

Robert in IN

Comments On Nov 16, 2015:I mentor an industrial arts club at Corydon Central High School in Corydon, Indiana. The club sought out and received a grant from the AAW (American Assoc of Woodturners). They purchased two new mini-lathes and 100 pen kits to make and present to military personnel. However, the turning tools at the school were old , outdated and very dull. I suggested to the teacher there that the Easy Wood Tools might be the answer. It can be counterproductive to have new turning students try their hand at making a pen for the first time using these old tools. The school purchased five of the EWT pen turners. It was an immediate success! After showing the students the proper technique for using the tools, they made some of the nicest pens that had been made to date. They were also made with less time and effort thereby give the users a boost in their confidence! We couldn't be happier. Rob Roby

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool

Roy in VA

Comments On Nov 08, 2015:This tool is great. I use it on all of my small turnings. Not just for pens.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is my Go-To tool for pen turning

Charles in KS

Comments On Feb 05, 2015:I bought this Easy Wood Pen Turner when it was on sale earlier this year. I am extremely happy with my purchase. It turns acrylic like it is cutting through butter and leaves a smooth, shiny surface. It cuts through wood nicely, too. I first thought I would use it only for final shaping but find myself using it start to finish when turning a pen. I give this tool my highest recommendation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just not for pen turning...

JOHN in NJ

Comments On Sep 17, 2014:I have been hesitant to use flat based carbide tipped turning tools; being somewhat 'old fashioned'. I find myself getting more and more 'delicate' in my spindle turning and thought I'd give this a try. To my great surprise this worked well and I was able to adapt and expand my turning techniques to maximize it's use. GREAT PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Cutter

Douglas in AK

Comments On Jan 23, 2014:I'm fairly new at turning and not set up for sharpening so I though I'd give this a whirl... this tool cuts great! Leaves an excellent finish, minimal sanding needed afterwards. Cut a few acrylic blanks with it and the shavings were just peeling of like cutting wet wood or using a hand finish planer. Word of caution - be careful brushing chips and dust off the tip with your hands - there are 4 cutting sides and 3 of them are exposed and very sharp... sliced my thumb 5 or 6 times without knowing it wiping shavings off the tip. Excellent tool.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool

James in CA

Comments On Dec 26, 2013:This tool works great. I love using it. My only question is can I use a Ci2 Square insert with it? (Editors Note: Yes you can use the Ci2 square insert with the Easy Pen Turner.)

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Comments On Nov 15, 2013:I typically turn my pen blanks down close to the bushings with a small roughing gouge then use the Easy Wood Tool to finish the turning and most times only need light sanding beginning with 320 or 400 grit. Very easy to sneak up on the bushings without damaging them.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

YES YES YES Love this tool Like butter!

Kevin in MO

Comments On Jul 01, 2013:I wish I would have purchased this tool a long time ago! I have made ten acrylic pens and this tool cuts the sanding in half! perfect tool for any pen maker from start to finish. If you keep going back and forth on whether to but or not ...BUY IT!!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great for pens and small projects

JASON in UT

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:These really are easy to use. I set the cutter at center and make hard or light cuts with the tool. I can rough and finish with the same tool. As a beginner, i like only using one tool. Also, i don't have to own sharpening equipment because you just rotate the cutter when it is dull.

Was this review helpful?