Pen Makers Choice Exotic Pen Blanks

Customer Reviews for Pen Makers Choice Exotic Pen Blanks

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 8 Reviews

Return to Pen Makers Choice Exotic Pen Blanks Product Page

Customer Reviews

Pen Makers Choice Exotic Pen Blanks Reviews

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very nice burl and well-stabilized

Dave in OH

Comments On Jan 31, 2018:These blanks produced very nice and surprising patterns after turning and sanding. They are well-stabilized, as even fairly large inclusions remain intact during turning, which adds to the character of the finished piece. Drilling into them is also not a problem. As with any burl, though, I suggest trimming the corners down before roughing. I've bought several of these and i'll keep buying them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Thuya absolutely stunning

Charles in ID

Comments On Jan 16, 2018:I've purchased several of the thuya burl blanks now and they are amazing. They make an excellent choice for a higher end pen kit. I was also pleased with the holly and the walnut burl. The holly is nice as a contrast when combined with another wood (I used african blackwood). I really hope they can keep a supply of the thuya though. I really can't say enough good things about it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pen Blanks

Dean in AB

Comments On Dec 20, 2017:Very happy with my orders of pen blanks from Craft Supplies USA, I'm a happy customer and will return.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great blanks!

Jay in AZ

Comments On Aug 07, 2016:I've used the Holly for segments and Thuya for complete pens. Both are very nice, and the Thuya is just beautiful! I'm very pleased with all the pen blanks I've purchased from Craft Supplies, they seem to get the good stuff every time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect blank

RICHARD in CA

Comments On Feb 11, 2015:Blank was perfect for the razor stand and razor handle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Marblewood

Jeffrey in AR

Comments On Jan 15, 2015:I picked up one of these in marblewood and I'm very impressed. It looks like somebody sat down and painted on all of the grain. It's absolutely gorgeous. I just wish I'd bought more, because they're on back order now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful woods

TAYLOR in TX

Comments On Dec 03, 2014:These woods are incredible. It's always fun to see how they turn out as you progress through the project since the real beauty and character of the wood comes out as you turn and finish it. I've used the African Blackwood, Black/White Ebony and Desert Ironwood. They're all amazing looking. I will say however, take care when turning the Black/White Ebony, it's incredibly hard and fights back if you try to feed too fast. My first go around when learning this, I actually caused it to shatter right off of the mandrel. I had just come from turning Bocote, which you can practically fall into with the tool without trouble so I hadn't adjusted my technique. I highly recommend any of these.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great natural look

Ruben in CA

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Used the African Blackwood for a higher end pen kit. There's nothing complicated about these blanks. Very nice quality and great natural look. Very easy to turn. Makes a nice pen with a CA finish.

Was this review helpful?