Apprentice Slimline Pen Kit

Customer Reviews for Apprentice Slimline Pen Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 18 Reviews

Return to Apprentice Slimline Pen Kit Product Page

Customer Reviews

Apprentice Slimline Pen Kit Reviews

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice pen kits

Bret in AZ

Comments On Dec 17, 2017:These are fantastic pen kits. The fit and finish are superb. Everyone complements me on how they look, and they write like a dream. Nice that they take Cross refills too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Still making them

Chuck in AZ

Comments On Nov 25, 2017:i turned some i ordered and all went together perfectly, as well as the instructions included.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected.

TAMMY

Comments On Mar 13, 2017:This is the first pen kit I have purchased. Frankly, for the price I expected this to be cheaply made. I was wrong. The pen I made does not feel or look cheap at all. It is actually quite heavy for such a small profile. The ink is very smooth writing. The twist mechanism is very smooth and works like a charm. I am a nurse and know what a good pen feels like in my hand. I can't to wait to make mine. I plan to make my co-workers pens for Christmas. You can't go wrong with this purchase especially if you like a slim profiled pen like I do.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Kit!

Cadyn in UT

Comments On Dec 02, 2016:This pen kit comes with all the metal parts needed to fully assemble a turned pen into a work of art.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Right for the money

KEN in TN

Comments On Nov 27, 2016:These are nice for the money. They are just what you would expect. I am buying the Artisan pen kits now though.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slimline Pen Kits

Cameron in TX

Comments On Sep 30, 2016:The slimline pen kits from Craft Supplies USA are great. They are very durable and easy to assemble. It gives your pens an amazing look and at a very good price too.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finished pen doesn't look inexpensive

Jim in CO

Comments On Feb 25, 2016:Living in high-end new construction, I get a lot of free scraps, mostly maple cabinet trim, alder stair trim, poplar closet boards and oak flooring. Besides making knife blocks, boxes and toilet-paper holders, I turn a lot of pens. I have made over 75 using the Apprentice Slimline components in all the finishes.
These appear to be about the same kits available at local stores (Woodcraft and Rockler) but are much cheaper online through Craft Supplies USA, aka The Woodturners Catalog. Since I give my pens away as presents, the low-cost components and no-cost blanks are appreciated. People are amazed at how nice the pens look and can't believe they were made from scrap wood.
I did have a small issue with the hole in the clip being too small for the end cap. Rather than ream the hole with a drill (likely hurting the finish), I called the 800 number. Kiko in Customer Service sent me 5 replacement clips at no charge. Prior to sending them, she hand-fit each one to make sure I wouldn't have any trouble. She was very nice.
Without hesitation, I will order another 50 slimline pens kits from them again (there's a price-break at 50 which makes them even less expensive). I especially like that they send you a tracking number as soon as your order ships.
(I also discovered that when you give the sub-contractors a free pen, they might reward you with scrap walnut, mahogany, hickory, elm, silver maple or cherry - leftover from other jobs. Pretty good deal.)

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

First time buyer

John in PA

Comments On Aug 14, 2015:This was my first purchase from Craft Supplies. I must say that I am very impressed. Processing and shipping was lightning fast and I received my items in 2 days. The kits are exactly what I was looking for and the price can not be beaten. I will, most certainly, be buying more supplies here. Thanks to Craft Supplies, my bottom line is starting to look better. Match these kits with some quality blanks and you can easily up-scale your pens to a new price level.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great pen, great price

Timothy in LA

Comments On Jul 30, 2015:I've bought, turned, and sold several of these already. All of them have been shipped in perfect condition without any parts missing. Can't complain.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great beginner kit.

Gus in PA

Comments On Apr 29, 2015:Easy to turn and assemble.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for bulk gifts...

Jeffrey in AR

Comments On Jan 15, 2015:These kits are super cheap, but they don't look like it. If you dress them up with a nice blank and put a lot of shine on it, people will be thrilled with the end product. I keep a lot of these on hand and give them out like candy.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Looking at an Excellent Price

PAUL in ON

Comments On Jun 14, 2014:These slim pen kits may not cost a lot, but they work well and have not had any complaints. Great to try new designs with.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get started with this kit

MILES in IL

Comments On Feb 23, 2014:Slimeline kits are the way to start. You will learn different ways to perfect your talent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Kit!

Donald in CA

Comments On Feb 11, 2014: It is a very straight forward pen kit. Both tubes are the same size so there is no mixing up your pieces or which order they are assembled in. Directions are simple and easy to follow. I am very happy with how the pens turned out and the writing quality of the refill. I purchased a total of 12 kits. Don't forget to order extra tubes in case you have a catch!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great starter kits

Troy in MO

Comments On Feb 14, 2014:just starting out simple to turn and put together

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good pen kits for the price

CHARLES in FL

Comments On Jan 26, 2014:I like to buy these in bulk since they are even in quality across the board. Low cost makes it great for turning lower priced pens at a higher profit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits perfectly into the low price range.

DENNIS in WI

Comments On Jan 31, 2013:I order these 50 at a time. I need a pen that can sell down on the price scale, and this is it. It can be made into several styles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Expensive look for a great price

Tim in NY

Comments On Jan 08, 2013:All finishes were great quality!

Was this review helpful?