Apprentice Cigar Pen Kits

Customer Reviews for Apprentice Cigar Pen Kits

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 14 Reviews

Return to Apprentice Cigar Pen Kits Product Page

Customer Reviews

Apprentice Cigar Pen Kits Reviews

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good pen

JEFF in NC

Comments On Jan 17, 2018:I order this pen and used maple on one and oak on the other and a ca finish on both and they turned out beautiful,,i like a beefy pen and this one is it,,and the price was right,,didn't have any trouble out of either ,,pen,,assembly was easy,,and the twist action is very smooth,,,

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Large, heavier pen

Adam in OH

Comments On Jul 08, 2015:Having only turned slimline pens, these were a completely new experience for me. These are a larger pen and have a noticeable weight to them. They assembled easily with the included instructions and as soon as they were finished one was claimed by my wife, and I kept the other.Everyone who has seen them enjoys the feel and heft of these. Will be ordering more in larger quantities.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

beautiful kit

Gus in PA

Comments On Apr 28, 2015:Whether using wood or acrylic these pens look great. And are no trouble to turn.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I've made more of these than I can count.

Jeffrey in AR

Comments On Jan 15, 2015:People love the cigar pen because it's got a lot of heft and it feels good in the hand. While I have made a ton of these with plenty of success, I did have a couple with faulty mechanisms. CSUSA was happy to send me replacement kits, but the ones I got as a replacement had ill-fitting components, which required that I glue parts together then shouldn't have needed it. The majority of the kits I've gotten in this type are still good, but the consistency leaves a little to be desired.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

lenny in MA

Comments On Jan 12, 2015:Great quality for the price and doesn't feel like a cheap pen. Heavy and writes well and looks good with any material blank

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality

Mel in TX

Comments On Dec 15, 2014:As with most pen kits offered this one does not disappoint. Good quality mechanism, smooth writing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love this pen kit

CHRISTOPHER in NY

Comments On Dec 10, 2014:I use these for the men in my family with some darker colored burl wood, they have become very sought after by my family's friends. they are heavy but weighted perfectly. a high quality kit for gifts or selling. you will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid and impressive

John in UT

Comments On Dec 10, 2014:I have used and sold dozens of these cigar pens. They are quite impressive and always make an impression on customers.
The kit is not as simple as a slimline, but not much more complicated. Just be sure to keep the barrels intact, or you will be in trouble!
The pens are definitely larger than the norm, and will be best for people who either have larger hands, or who simply like a more impressive pen.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Terrific fit and finish

TAYLOR in TX

Comments On Dec 03, 2014:I am new to pen turning, but I'm addicted now. It's a lot of fun. I've tried 5 or 6 different types of pen kits so far and this one is my favorite for several reasons. It has an air of quality to it due to the fit and finish, the weight, and the smoothness of the action. It's my favorite and the favorite of my family and friends that have seen my pens. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good overall

Mark in IL

Comments On Oct 31, 2014:Very good kit overall. I prefer the Artisan kit however no major complaint with this kit. I feel that the Artisan kit includes a nicer refill.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great pen for beginners and experts

Nathan in ID

Comments On Sep 04, 2014:I began making pens in high school. The Apprentice Cigar pen was the first pen I ever made. I highly recommend this pen kit for beginners. However, I still continue to make this pen. It is one of my favorite styles because I like the larger and heavier feel of the pen. I do not give it the full 5 stars because I think the ink could be a little more reliable. The ink cuts out occasionally when writing. Overall I think it is a good pen and lots of fun to make.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Russell in NC

Russell in NC

Comments On Jul 15, 2014:Great pen

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The Big man's pen

DEBRA in MI

Comments On Oct 17, 2013:Do you have big hands and need a pen to fit them? You will want to get this pen. All my male customers love it. I made a beautiful purple heart and gold one for my brother-in-law. He can stop talking about how much he loves it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great place to start.

JOSHUA in CA

Comments On Aug 22, 2013:I started with these and quickly found that the Artisan Cigar Pen Kit is well worth the extra $3 or $4 more. If your going to spend the time to make something nice don't skimp on these. The spin action of the Artisan is much nicer and seems to go together better. My major complaint is it seems to spin around the wood losing the grain alignment ever time i use it. But it functions.

Was this review helpful?